Tour of Tasmania: Kangaroos
Text-only version
Flora & fauna
Rainbow lorikeet
Tasmanian devil
Tasmanian tiger
Tawny frogmouth

Huon pine
Tasmanian blue gum
Tasmanian regions
Tasmanian flora & fauna
North-west coast
North and north-east
East coast
Tasman Peninsula
Southern Tasmania
West coast
Central and midlands
Site short-cuts
Introduction to Tasmania
Site map
About the Tour of Tasmania
Copyright and disclaimer
Provide feedback!
Tasmania FAQ
Tasmania Online
Search the Tour
Kangaroos are large marsupials known as `macropods' due to their large feet. There are several species of kangaroo, the most famous being the red kangaroo common in arid regions of Australia.

Movie Forester Kangaroo, 1.15Mb QuickTime movie.

Due to the more mountainous and heavily vegetated environment of Tasmania, red kangaroos are not found in the state. However, the grey kangaroo (also known as the Eastern grey kangaroo or Forester kangaroo) is common, and is a protected species.

Forester kangaroos can reach over 2m (6'7") in height when fully upright, and can jump 8m (26') in a single bound at high speed, although this would not happen so commonly in Tasmania. This type of kangaroo are most common in Tasmania's north-east, but can also be found in central Tasmania and on the east coast.

© 1995-2010